Books

Book: Midnight at the Electric by Jody Lynn Anderson

Last September 2015, I bid farewell on my book blog, The Escapist. Having a book blog is a fun experience. I met bookish friends and awesome authors and publishers in the industry. And the best of it all? Books! After that goodbye, I also stopped reviewing (and requesting and receiving books). It’s one of the things I missed so much that is why when I was sure I would come back to blogging, I made a promise that books will definitely be a part of it. Because BOOKS!!!

I had a wonderful privilege to be still in contact with and review books from one of the publishers I love and today I’m sharing my top 5 reasons why I like Jody Lynn Anderson’s new book, Midnight at the Electric!

Advance reader’s edition. Thank you HarperCollins International for the review copy!

1) It’s like time travel.

Midnight at the Electric highlights three strong young women from different generations: Adri from year 2065, Catherine from 1934, and Lenore from 1919. They have their own stories and something that they fight for. It’s amazing that even though these young women existed in three different generations, their stories opened up and connected through the story of one.  It’s a story within a story, which I liked!

This book is both futuristic and historical and it gives a time travel feels.

2) Love, hope, and determination

Adri, Catherine, and Lenore’s stories and characters are something to look forward to. Lenore, because of love, overcame doubts, time, and distance. Catherine held on to the hope of something better than what she has – she had the courage to do something that is beyond what she knows and hoped that life will turn in favor of her. Adri, due to determination, achieved something she wanted.

3) Unpredictability

The story didn’t have me on the first few chapters. However, after patiently reading and flipping the pages, I came to the interesting part which made me eager to read more to know how the story will unfold and how their stories might be connected.

I was excited and curious to find out more about Lenore and Catherine just as Adri did. I was waiting what will happen next and the things I thought would happen did not (though not all). The unpredictability of this book both frustrates and pleases me but above all, unpredictability is always a plus thing for me.

4) Warmth

This book isn’t just “give me a story”. The sub stories and overall story was well-thought of and can speak to every reader. I love how it gives tribute to love. Love for family, friend, lover, stranger, and even to a beloved pet. It gave the book more depth and value. It is both heart-warming and heart-breaking.

5) Reading activator

Even before I quit my book blog I’ve been on reading slump. I have read few books after that (most are non-fiction) but not to a point that it had me reading like a machine unlike before. Managing a new blog and the fact that I am sure to share (and read) about books as well made me wonder if I can go back to reading again after years of slump.

Reading Midnight at the Electric is an easy one. It was interesting, warm, and unpredictable that it help me kept reading. I actually finished the book! I would want to read more after this. 🙂 Overall, Midnight at the Electric was a good and entertaining read. Also celebrating its release day today!

Midnight at the ElectricMidnight at the Electric by Jody Lynn Anderson

Genre: Young adult, sci-fi, futuristic/historical

Published June 13th 2017 by HarperTeen

Available on Amazon.

Learn more about the book on Goodreads here.

*Review based on advanced reading copy.

Synopsis:

Kansas, 2065 Adri has been handpicked to live on Mars. But weeks before Launch, she discovers the journal of a girl who lived in her house over a hundred years ago, and is immediately drawn into the mystery surrounding her fate. While Adri knows she must focus on the mission ahead, she becomes captivated by a life that’s been lost in time…and how it might be inextricably tied to her own.

Oklahoma, 1934 Amidst the fear and uncertainty of the Dust Bowl, Catherine longs for the immortality promised by a professor at a traveling show called The Electric. But as her family’s situation becomes more dire — and the suffocating dust threatens her sister’s life — Catherine must find the courage to sacrifice everything she loves in order to save the one person she loves most.

England, 1919 In the recovery following World War One, Lenore tries to come to terms with her grief for her brother, a fallen British soldier, and plans to sail to America in pursuit of a childhood friend. But even if she makes it that far, will her friend be the person she remembers, and the one who can bring her back to herself?

While their stories spans thousands of miles and multiple generations, Lenore, Catherine, and Adri’s fates are entwined in ways both heartbreaking and hopeful.

Here’s to more book posts/thoughts ahead!

Yours,

Black Butterfly.

Leave a Reply

