Books

MIBF 2017

Book lovers unite once again in this year’s Manila International Book Fair!

15978059_1270400506346964_3627640006644254100_n1

 

It was an entire month early when Manila International Book Fair’s (MIBF) Facebook page started counting down for the most-awaited event for book lovers. Local bookstores and publishers join the countdown as they share the number of days left, host giveaways, announce their own booth events such as author signings, book releases, and many more. It was exciting to see how fun the event would be!

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, standing and stripes

Here are some booths we’ve dropped by (or I have took photos from):

First stop was CSM Publishing. Who wouldn’t notice this booth? Just as we entered the doors, we were welcomed by their “Book Buffet All Books at P100 or Less” banner (not that I haven’t seen their ads on Facebook). People crowd as they pick books they would later devour at home. CSM Publishing also had daily author signings and meet and greet. We came as Marvin Germo, author of several books about stock market, signs his books from a fan.

Image may contain: one or more people

Local bookstores such as National Bookstore, Fullybooked, and Goodwill Bookstore, plus other publishers such as C&E (where our medical textbooks was published) and Summit Media were also present.

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, food and indoor

And guess what? It was only at MIBF where I learned about other Christian publishers/bookstores such as Christian Literature Crusade, Philippine Christian Book Store, and TouchLife Global Foundation Inc. I need to get my knowledge about Philippine Christian lit/bookstore widened!

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

OMF Literature, another local Christian publisher, is one of my fave booths. Like CSM, they also have daily author signings and just in time I caught Malu Tiongson-Ortiz, author of Ikaw Na Ang Maganda series (remember the book I reviewed here?), for the launching of Ikaw Na Ang Maganda book 3: How to be Fit and Fab. I wished I brought my copy of book 2 for her to sign it. Sayang! 

Malu waves to the camera as the Q&A was interrupted because of an overly loud announcement from a booth from the second floor, a rather funny interruption which we just laughed off.

No automatic alt text available.

Eye candy! A shelf full of C.S Lewis’ books at OMF Literature booth. I almost cried – it was a beautiful sight! They have a boxed set containing eight of his signature classics. I would get mine after saving.

Image may contain: 2 people

A separate stage was set up on the first floor for other signings. I saw local actor Paulo Avelino and was surprised to see him signing books but later found out that it was for Ang Larawan, a stage play turned movie that he played part.

Image may contain: one or more people and indoor

But wait, there more! This year’s MIBF is even bigger with more booths on the second floor. It was an extension of children’s books and other non-books such as digital/technology, stationery, and more. It’s more like a children’s section, as I noticed there were a lot of students. I believe they were having a field trip.

Image may contain: indoor

And the best of all? The books that I won! I came with a care group (a.k.a cell group) mate who also won on one of CSM’s giveaway (she got three women’s devotionals) but wouldn’t want to take photos of herself and CSM hasn’t uploaded our photos on Facebook when we claimed the books, so here’s just me.

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling, people standing

Closer look to Treasures Within Reach by Willy Chua, Guarding Your Heart and Mind by Grace Shangkuan Koo, and Life in the Middle by Marlene Legaspi-Munar. It still amazed me that: I won the first try, I won not one but three books, and that these books are something that I would really need right now. I am giving Life in the Middle to my mother as an early birthday gift. Thank you so much CSM Publishing! 🙂

 

***

Have you been to MIBF? Share your story on the comments below!

 

Yours,
Black Butterfly

Leave a Reply

